Why Your LinkedIn InMap is More than just a Pretty Picture

The RockStar Success Library

Have you ever wondered what your professional network looks like? Did you know you can use LinkedIn’s InMap generator to find out?

Here’s what mine looks like:

Inmap 5-29-13

To create a your own, you can visit the Linkedin Labs InMap Generator.

Think about what you are seeing here.  This is my personal org chart.  This visually describes how I’m connected to everyone I know and how they are connected to each other.  These are the people I can call on for help and that can call upon me.  It’s the web of relationships I’ve woven through my schools, past jobs, and social activities.

This represents a huge shift in how we structure our professional world, because my org chart belongs to me, not my organizations.  If everyone in my network changed jobs tomorrow, my network wouldn’t look any different.  If I change jobs tomorrow, my network wouldn’t look any different.  My…

View original post 296 more words

Leave a Reply

